The Brooklyn Chapter of the United Nations Association of the U.S.A. is one of about 140 other local chapters throughout the United States supporting the good work of the UN!




We are U.S. citizens and residents living in the great borough of Brooklyn who want to inform, inspire and mobilize Brooklynites in support of the UN.


We believe that engaging with our local communities and elected officials is critical to fostering U.S. foreign policies that enable the UN system to carry out its mission as enshrined in the UN Charter, to discourage and prevent war and improve global living standards

The Brooklyn Chapter of the United Nations Association of the United States of America is open to anyone from the great borough of Brooklyn who wants to advance and support for the principles and vital work of the United Nations, strengthening the United Nations system, promoting constructive United States leadership in that system and achieving the goals of the United Nations Charter.


In addition to diplomacy and peacekeeping to end the scourge of war and conflict, the United Nations each year promotes food security and feeds more than 97 million people in 80 countries; vaccinates over 58% of the world's children to save 2.5 million lives a year; promotes maternal health care that saves the lives of nearly 30 million women a year; and so much more. While the UN is not a perfect institution, it serves a nearly perfect purpose: to promote global cooperation to address some of the world's most pressing challenges that no single country can resolve alone.


People across the United States need to know more about the United Nations! That is why the Brooklyn Chapter is among more than 120 UNA chapters across the United States that work with local communities and elected officials to inform, inspire, and mobilize Americans to support the principles and vital work of the UN.




UNA Brooklyn Chapter Officers and Board Members  

Executive Board

President: Margarette Tropnas

Vice President: Dr. Loretta Patton-Greenidge

Treasurer & UN Day Co-Chair: Michelle Horne Findley

Secretary: Sylvia Sanon

Board Members

Gabriel Levitt, President Emeritus (UN Day Co-Chair)

Dr. Loretta Patton-Greenidge (Membership Chair)

Cindy Similien (Communications Director)

Caroline Rakus-Wojciechowski (Young Professionals Chair)

Dr. Joan Tropnas

Dr. Marceline J. Watler

E. Mark Lewis 








See our work